Sedona Marathon 2013

sedona_marathon_2013
On February 2, 2013 I competed in my first full marathon, the 8th Annual Sedona Marathon. I placed 134th out of 258 runners with a pace of 11:20 and finish time of 4:57:06.

The Sedona marathon was a very challenging race that pushed my mind and body very hard. The combination of steep hills and trail race on a dirt roads make it one of the hardest marathon’s in the country. I ran very strong up through about mile 20, but the last 6.2 miles were a real test of my physical and mental game. I learned a lot about my resolve to set out and complete a goal. Running in the beautiful red rocks of Sedona with very cool people added to the amazing experience.

View Pics

My wife also did an amazing job by completing her first 1/2 marathon in 2:38:46.
sedona_marathon_lisa

With my first marathon under my belt, tomorrow starts the training for my next marathon, Whiskey Row Marathon on Saturday, May 4, 2013. From the course description:

This out-and-back course is considered one of the most challenging in the United States. Starting at 5,280 feet, the elevation increases to 7,000 feet over the first seven miles, then down to 5,600 feet at the 13-mile turn around. The course is paved road for the first and last five miles, while the rest of the running route is a trail race on a dirt road maintained by the US Forest Service.

Happy Running :-)

3 thoughts on “Sedona Marathon 2013

  1. Congratulations Carlos! What an accomplishment, and inspiring to me to start training for something that will force me to focus and push my limits. Well done.

    1. Thanks Dan. I truly believe that is what life is about, pushing yourself past limits that seem impossible and being mindful on the journey to those goals.

Leave a comment