photo

On Saturday May 4, 2013 I ran the 35th Annual Whiskey Row Marathon with a finishing time of 4:52:13. It was beautiful day with clear sunny skies and cool mountain breezes blowing throughout the forest.

The race was very challenging both physically and mentally. With 16 miles of the running route being a trail race and a total elevation gain of 4,400 feet, reaching a peak altitude of 7,000 feet made this a much harder race than the Sedona Marathon .

I learned two important things from the Sedona Marathon; 1) that it is very important to focus on maintaining a consistent pace throughout the entire race; and 2) ensure that I monitor my glucose levels to prevent from bonking. This meant for this race not to run to fast early in the race and to keep my sugar levels up by consuming plenty of bananas, orange slices, and energy drinks. Both of which helped me deal with the the very steep mountain ascents, as you can see from the elevation profile below.

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 12.34.28 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 8.59.33 PM

My wife ran the very challenging 10k race this year and did an amazing job with a finishing time of 1:08.

wiskey_row_2013

Happy Running :-)

3 thoughts on “Whiskey Row Marathon 2013

  1. Awesome. You rock Carlos. That race profile looks seriously hard. You keep motivating me to do that Olympic tri in June. I should do it even though I’ll have minimal training. Didn’t stop me last year! ;-)

Leave a comment